This is the way we clean…

One thing I think is lacking with some young adults is the ability to survive on their own. It’s interesting that many animals set their young out on their own very soon after birth but humans don’t mature nearly as quickly. Young adults frequently enter adulthood without the ability to do their own laundry, balance a checkbook or cook for themselves.

I’ve decided to include life skills as a part of my dear son’s homeschool routine. This week, I taught him how to clean the bathroom. Now, don’t get your panties in a twist. I haven’t enslaved him and I use non-toxic products and make him wash his hands thoroughly when he’s done. Okay? Okay.

Seriously, the reason many parents don’t teach their children these skills is because it’s easier to do it themselves. I get it. No judgement here. But , at some point, we have to equip them to fly.

So, I taught him the proper way to clean the bathroom. You know, clean the sink before you clean the toilet with that same rag. These things are not instinctive with children (or husbands-I should tell you about the time my hubby used the plunger to unclog the kitchen sink and then didn’t sanitize the sink or the dishes in it. Never mind. I’ll keep it to myself.)

Turns out, dear son didn’t keel over from having to clean his own bathroom-although he did gag a bit about cleaning the puddle at the base of the toilet. This provided a teachable moment about the importance of aim.

This always makes me think of a plaque that my aunt had on her bathroom wall. She had two boys. It said: If you sprinkle when you tinkle, be a sweetie, wipe the seatie. She also had one that said: We aim to keep this bathroom clean. You’re aim would help.

I need to get those signs for his bathroom, along with one that says “Wipe and wash please.” And, “Don’t forget to flush.”

I’m hoping that this experience will at least help him to be a little neater when he uses the bathroom. We’ll see.

Do you teach your children lifeskills? What skills do you teach them? Maybe there’s something I’m missing. I want my child to be independent.

20130111-223832.jpg

20130111-223845.jpg

Leave a Reply

