Home is where your heart is.

I know, that’s a corny phrase. But it’s true. I have learned that it doesn’t matter where I live as long as I have a roof over my head, food in my tummy and my family with me. In my previous post, I mentioned that we are living in a makeshift studio apartment in the finished basement of our friends’ home. Now, it’s not our dream home, nor is it the lovely 4 bedroom, two bath with a fireplace we just left. However, I am completely at peace here. It helps that the people we are staying with are wonderful people. They are so easy to get along with and supportive. They’ve definitely made us feel welcome and at home here. I can’t thank them enough.

I have learned to adapt to my surroundings and find joy in them. I have lived in nice homes and in dumps. And now in a basement. It’s finished, though. The worst place I have lived in had no glass in the windows and was so filthy it was infested with mice and fleas. Don’t worry, I cleaned and bombed it. We did move in without the glass in the windows, but the landlord replaced it by late October. Sounds terrible, doesn’t it? That was a long time ago, but I have learned through all of my homes, that what matters is having those you love with you. I always try to remember that there are people sleeping under bridges, so I don’t have the right to complain. And I have no complaints about where I live now. Like I said, we live with really great people. And I’m trying to be a blessing to them as much as I can, so we don’t become a burden to them.

You see, when you step out of your comfort zone, and try to follow God’s plan for your life, you may be uncomfortable for awhile. But the blessings will come, if you obey. We have seen so many blessings since we left our comfortable home in Wisconsin for a basement in Indiana. We left with no jobs and no known prospects. After being here for just one week, my hubby found a great job, I found a play group for my now homeschooled son. I also found a great homeschool co-op. My little guy found a friend right next door. I have had no shortage of social events to attend. I found a couple of groups of wonderful ladies to spend time with. And I have my friends and family nearby. And we found a church that we really love, with wonderful worship, a great word that is meaningful and relevant, and such a caring and kind church family. God is good. He is faithful. We just have to have faith in Him.

There have been times when I have wondered what was God’s plan in a given situation. But I know he always has a plan. He doesn’t always reveal it to us when we want him to. In fact, I’m still not sure what God’s plan is for us here. But, I believe that he brought us here not only to bless us, but to bless others through us and I can’t wait for that opportunity to arise. I’m looking forward to a new kind of ministry. You just never know what God has in store for us.

I just wanted to share the positive things that have come out of this new adventure in our lives. If you read previous posts, it will help you to understand more.  I hope that wherever you hang your hat, will be a place of peace and contentment. Blessings!

~There’s No Place Like Home!

 

Leave a Reply

