Heath bar dip (a.k.a. Big Booty Dip)

I recently made this dip for a party I attended. It was a hit! It’s so delicious and so easy. I love to bake but this past week, it was over 100 degrees every.single.day. My friend requested that I bake some cupcakes. That was a definite no. Not going to happen. I’m a fair weather baker, you see. Meaning, I bake fall, winter and early spring. Then I take a break.

So, I couldn’t come to the party empty handed. This recipe is going to be my go to recipe for summer. It’s so easy to make and everybody loves it. And, I’ve been thinking up ways that I can change it up a bit by varying the ingredients.

I’m going to share the recipe with you. Go ahead and try it. You can also reduce the calories in it by using reduced fat cream cheese or non-fat, and using less caramel. Or reduce the powdered sugar. You really can tweak this to suit your tastes.

Here’s the recipe:

1c. butter, softened

2-8oz. pkgs. cream cheese

2c. powdered sugar

1/4c. caramel ice cream topping

2t. vanilla

1/2t. butter rum flavoring (I didn’t have any, so I used about 1/8th t. almond)

1c. mini chocolate chips

1c. toffee bits (in the baking aisle)

I used the remaining chips and heath to sprinkle on the top. YUM!

Cream the butter and cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add powdered sugar. Mix well. Add caramel and flavorings. Mix well. Add the chips and toffee bits. Serve with graham crackers, pretzels, or even Ritz crackers. This dip is SWEET, so I love the salty to counter it.

***At the party, one of the guests was really enjoying the dip and said she had had something similar, called Big Booty Dip. I liked it, so I think that may be the new name.

 

I’ve been thinking of other ingredients I can use to change it up a little bit. I was thinking I could use peanut butter instead of butter and add peanut butter chips and/or peanut butter cups. What do you think?

What are some ideas that you have? Please share them in the comments section.

I hope you enjoy the recipe. Take it to your next party and you’ll get raves!

~There’s No Place Like Home

 

 

Leave a Reply

