Moving sale

Today I had a moving sale and will attempt to get out there again tomorrow. I absolutely must get rid of a ton of stuff. We are moving out of state and downsizing since we have only 1 of 4 children left at home. I really didn’t want to do it in this heat, it was 104 with a 107 heat index, however, I really have no choice.

So, I haven’t had time to blog because I have been so busy organizing, sorting, pricing and packing. I don’t see that changing in the next few weeks. We are downsizing from a 4 bedroom, 2 bath house with a full basement and an additional 2 bedrooms downstairs. We’ve lived here seven years and have somehow filled every nook and cranny in this house. Oh, and let’s not forget the shed and the 2 car garage. Sheesh. And the backyard. OY VEY!

So, I apologize for not blogging much. Please bear with me. I’ll be back to a regular schedule soon, I hope. How do you feel about accumulating stuff? Do you have a house bulging with stuff or do you keep it to a minimum? If you had to move right now, would you have  a lot of stuff that you would not want to pack? I do, so I’m going through my house, room by room. If I want it bad enough to pack it, I do and if not, it’s going out to the garage sale.

Have you noticed how many storage locker businesses there are? I can think back to a day when those didn’t exist. It’s a big business and whoever came up with the idea was really smart. But let’s think about this for a second. If we have so much stuff that we need to pay to store it, maybe it’s time to rethink whether or not we really need that stuff at all. Now, I’m not talking about people who have to temporarily store things for whatever reason. I’m referring to people who store their stuff in lockers for years. I know people who do this. You do the math. I’m lazy.

Well, let’s hope I don’t keel over in the heat tomorrow. Until next time,

~There’s No Place Like Home

Leave a Reply

