Adventures in Homeschooling

My intentions were to make this blog and my son’s blog a part of our homeschooling. His should be about the things that he learns. Mine will be about some of the things we do, and lots of things that I do or think or feel. However, we are struggling to remember to blog because we are busy LIVING and LEARNING!! I’m sorry about that but at the same time, I’m not.

So, I thought I’d catch you up on a few things we’ve done lately. I can’t keep track of everything we’ve done, but here are a few highlights in our summer homeschooling adventures.

I taught my 6 year old how to vacuum. That’s exciting to me! Actually, he loves it. I want you to notice his boots. He made a big production of putting his boots on so he wouldn’t run over his toes. Silly kid. (I don’t want you to notice my messy house in the background. We WERE cleaning at the time. Or my hubby chillin’ on the couch. Heehee!)

We saw a magician through our public library’s summer programs. He was pretty good.

We went on a road trip to attend my grandfather’s memorial service and saw lots of family, including my parents dog. Isn’t she pretty? And HUGE!!!

They say there’s more than corn in Indiana, but this is all we saw. Field after field of corn. And lots of blue skies with big puffy clouds. The weather was great, which was a blessing because the memorial service was outdoors, complete with the honor guard and 21 gun salute! (My grandfather fought and was injured in the Battle of the Bulge.)

I gave my son a hand at math. Literally. Heehee! Just trying to find ways to do some math review without always using a worksheet. We also made triangular flashcards but I didn’t take a picture of those. Today we’re using a deck of cards and maybe dice.

This is another program through the public library. This guy was supposed to be a humorist. I think there was a mix up. He had lots of animal pelts that the kids could pet, and he had tiny tree frogs, big bullfrogs and cockroaches. Yuck. He was interesting, though. He taught the kids some sign language and talked about animals.

I didn’t know bullfrogs were that big. And we learned that most frogs don’t ribbet!

He got to touch the frog. He didn’t want to hold it though. And he was definitely not down with holding the cockroaches!

Other than that, we’ve just been packing and preparing for a garage sale before we move. (Hubby used to work at B/N, so they were kind enough to hold some boxes for us. They’re great for our huge library of books. I know, who’da thunk it??LOL)

Amidst all of our business, we did take time to smell the roses…uh…or photograph the daisies! Well, break time is over. Time to get back to learning. What are you doing with your kids this summer? I’d love to hear some of your adventures. Please leave me some comments. I respond to every single one. Thanks!

~There’s No Place Like Home

Leave a Reply

