Memorial service

I’ll be gone for a few days, to attend my grandfather’s memorial service and visit with family back home. Unfortunately, I’m staying with my mom (that’s not the unfortunate part! LOL) and she still lives in the dark ages. No internet. I am working on her though.

My grandfather lived 92 long years and he was a wonderful man. He was dedicated to his family and had many friends. He lived a life of integrity. I doubt there is any person that could find a bad thing to say about him. I pray that one day, I will be able to leave the same legacy.

Here is a poem that someone gave to my mom when my brother passed away last year. She plans to share this at my grandfather’s funeral.

In Honor of Glenn Hanley Kleven
December 12, 1919-May 22, 2012

Don’t grieve for me now, for now I’m free. I could not stay another day

to laugh, to love, to work or play. Tasks left undone must stay that way.

I’ve found my peace at the close of day.

If my parting has left a void, then fill it with remembered joy.

A friendship is shared, a laugh, a kiss, all these things I, too, will miss.

Be not burdened with times of sorrow. I wish you the sunshine of tomorrow.

My life’s been full, I have savored much. Good family, friends, good times, a love’s touch.

Perhaps my time seemed all too brief; don’t lengthen it now with undue grief.

Lift up your heart and share with me, for now my family, I’m truly free.

Since I will be without internet, I will not be posting for a few days. In the meanwhile, I pray that you all enjoy your weekend with people you love. Even 92 years is just so short.

~There’s No Place Like Home

2 thoughts on “Memorial service

Leave a Reply

