Cherish every moment

I have been a bit overwhelmed lately with starting homeschool and preparing for a garage sale and packing to go who knows where. My child is intense and requires a lot of attention. He’s mentally exhausting. That’s typical of a gifted kid. The constant questions, the know-it-all attitude. It can really wear you down at times. Sometimes, I just wish I could get some me time.

However, recently I was given a reminder that life is short and we need to treasure every moment. A little girl, just 4 years old passed away. I didn’t know her, but I know some of her extended family. It’s heartbreaking. Unbelievable. Tragic. But if nothing else positive comes of this tragedy, it definitely serves as a reminder that none of us are promised tomorrow. No matter what.

In two days, I will be traveling to my grandfather’s memorial service. He was 92 years old. He lived a long life. I won’t say that it’s not hard to let him go, but somehow it’s easier to make sense of letting someone go when they have lived 92 years. It’s just too hard to comprehend a life cut short. My thoughts and prayers go out to the family.

We lost my brother in August, after a 3 year battle with cancer. He was 42. He will not be able to see his granddaughter grow up. I still struggle to believe I will never get to talk to him again, or hear his laugh. The point is that we cannot cheat death. We are not invincible.

I have to say that I feel convicted about how often I want to brush my little guy off and have some me time. Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s okay and even necessary for moms to have some time to let their brain rest. We cannot be the parents we need to be without some time to refuel. And yet, sometimes I let things that are not that important distract me from spending quality time with him. I don’t need to spend hours on the computer. I don’t need to play 13 games of Words with Friends. Pinterest has no eternal value.

I seem to need frequent reminders that if I come to the end of my life, whenever that is, I will not wish I spent more time doing these things. I will, however, regret it if I don’t spend as much time as I can with him. And not just with him, but with all of my loved ones, no matter what their age.

~There’s No Place Like Home

 

 

Leave a Reply

