Heavenly peanut butter cake pops

I love chocolate and peanut butter. Ok, I like chocolate and almost anything. But these just may be my favorite cake pop recipe. It’s so easy, too. I can’t believe I’m going to share this recipe with you. I usually have no hesitation in sharing recipes, but I have a dream! A dream of opening my own bake shop someday and I know that IF  when I do, these will be a big hit. But, I feel I must share the baking love with all of you. So, here it goes.

First, bake a white cake mix with 2 whole eggs, the recommended amount of water and a half of an 18 oz. jar of peanut butter. No oil needed because of the peanut butter. Bake as directed on the package. Cool completely. Seriously, COMPLETELY.

While the cake is baking you can make this amazing peanut butter buttercream. When I made my cake pops I made the full recipe, which is way to much unless you are making a sheet cake. It was very distressing to have about 3 cups of extra buttercream. But what could I do? I’ll tell you. I dipped my cake pop in it. In fact, I’m out of cake pops now (hubby took most of them to work) so now I may have to resort to eating it with a spoon. That’s not a big deal is it? It’s got to be healthy. It has peanut butter in it. That’s a healthy protein, right?

This is the amount I had left over–BEFORE I dipped my cake pop in it. Now, there may be some pieces of chocolate in the bowl. When I saw that, my first thought was…wait for it….YOU GOT YOUR CHOCOLATE IN MY PEANUT BUTTER! Uh, that may be over your head if you are too young to remember the commercials. I digress…

Here’s the recipe for Peanut butter buttercream:

1 stick of butter

1/2 bag of powdered sugar (make sure it is pure cane sugar, not generic. Otherwise it may be made of beet sugar and will result in grainy frosting. Don’t ask!)

1/2 jar of peanut butter

1t. vanilla

a little bit of milk to make it creamy.

Don’t be afraid to mess this up. If it’s too thick, add more milk a little at a time. If it’s too thin, add more powdered sugar.

Oops, I just realized, this is the full recipe. See, now I’m making you have 3 cups of extra buttercream. Oh well. If you don’t want the extra buttercream, just half this. So, that would be a half stick of butter, 1/4 bag of powdered sugar, 1/4 jar of peanut butter and 1/2t. of vanilla. See, that wasn’t hard. But you really don’t want to do that, right? I’m not the only one that wants to sneak into the kitchen later and eat it by the spoonful. Right?

Now, before I go on and forget to give credit, I must tell you that this recipe came from a lovely lady from our church. She makes a great carrot cake, too. One day, I’ll get her recipe and share that, too! Mmmm…carrot cake pops. Hmmm..

Ok, by now, your cake should be cool. So, grab a fork and just shred that puppy to crumbs. Yes, I’m serious. I know, I had a hard time doing that at first. It just seems wrong to bake it and then destroy it. Go ahead, it will be okay.

Now, you add about 1 cup of the buttercream and stir it until it is all incorporated. Next, is the fun part. Unless you have issues with getting your hands dirty. I’m okay with gooey hands as long as it’s not meat. YUCK! Now, get your hands in there and roll the ooey, gooey mess into balls. You can make them whatever size you like. Your famous coffee chain sells them the size of a golfball for $1.50. I prefer mine the size of a meatball. You do it your way.

I got 41 cake pops from one cake mix. The next step is to melt a large bag of chocolate chips or the chocolate bark. You can add a little canola oil or shortening to thin the chocolate a little. Then dip your sticks into the chocolate and then into the cake ball. Then freeze for about 30 minutes. The first time I ever made cake pops, I didn’t know to do this step. So, I just proceeded to put the sticks in the cake balls at room temperature and then dip them into the chocolate. The cake balls fell off. So, you can’t skip this step. Unless you want to go fishing with your fingers into a bowl of chocolate. Hmmmm…

Ok, now they need to go in the freezer. You may notice that my picture seems to be missing the sticks. That’s because I forgot the sticks and put the cake balls in the freezer. Then I realized what I did, and pulled them out and put the sticks in, rearranged my freezer and put the cake pops WITH the sticks back into the freezer. No big deal. Once they have been in the freezer, with sticks, you can dip them in the melted chocolate.

See, no sticks. I did refreeze with sticks but forgot to take a picture. I think you…get the picture. Ok, I’ll stop. Now, for the final step. DIP!!!! And place on a cookie sheet to allow the chocolate to set.

Look at all that chocolatey goodness. I tend to lay it on thick. The chocolate, I mean.

He likes them. I hope you do, too! Enjoy!

*****Note–You may have noticed that I place my cake pops on a cookie sheet, thus they are flat on the bottom. Some people prefer the traditional way. A friend of mine uses a sheet of styrofoam and pokes the sticks into it to keep them round. I simply prefer to take the easy way out. Besides, they the chocolate pools around the bottom and is thicker. Again, you do it your way. They taste the same either way!

~There’s No Place Like Home

Leave a Reply

