Character building

Have you ever had a DUH moment? You know, when something so incredibly obvious is introduced to you and you realize that you should have known it all along. Well, I had a moment like that at the Wisconsin Christian Homeschool Educators Conference. I was attending a class on teaching your children character and the speaker said that we must intentionally teach our children about character. Ok, just for the record, I DO teach my children about character. Kind of. When there is an issue that needs to be addressed, we have been known to speak to our children about Godly character and their need to display it in everything we do. Good enough, right?

Not so much. I guess we always thought that if we did that and modeled good character, that our children would be fine, upstanding young men and woman (we only have one girl) who display good character in all that they do. Well, I have to admit, we have failed our older children in this respect. It turns out, that if you only correct wrong behavior and then model the good character you want them to have, it doesn’t always work. It’s a good start. But there has to be more. We must be intentional about teaching them good character BEFORE an issue arises.

I know this seems obvious to many of you. But for me, it just never occurred to me to sit my kids down and teach them about specific character traits that any responsible human should display. DUH. I certainly hope I’m not the only one. I’m going to assume that I’m not the only parent that doesn’t have it all together and share with you a couple of resources that you might find helpful if you would like to teach your children about Godly character.

The first one I am going to share, you will actually use when issues arise. It’s called Proverbs for Parenting by Barbara Decker. This is a topical guide to the Proverbs. Whenever an issue arises, you can simply turn to that topic to show your children what the Bible says about that. Good thinking, eh? I mean, it’s Proverbs. The book of wisdom. We ALL need that when raising children.

Image

Check it out for yourself. Proverbs for Parenting is a great resource to use when conflicts arise; however, it’s best to teach them about Godly character BEFORE. I found a wonderful resource for this at the homeschool conference. At first, I didn’t purchase it because I’m on a budget and I figured I could design my own lessons on character using the Bible. After thinking about it awhile, my friend convinced me to go ahead and get it because the work is already done for me. I have enough on my plate and realistically, I may never get around to it. And I believe it is too important to take the chance of letting it fall by the wayside and never get done. So, I purchased it and I’m so glad I did. I can’t wait to get started.

Image

You can find Character Building by Lee Ann Rubsam and Proverbs for Parenting by Barbara Decker at this website:

http://courtshipconnection.com/character/

This website is also a great place to find several other great resources that I heard about at the conference. I don’t know about you, but we can use all of the wisdom and resources we can get our hands on to help us to raise children with Godly character. I hope you find these resources helpful and as always~There’s No Place Like Home!

6 thoughts on “Character building

    • Proverbs 4:20-23 My son, pay attention to what I say; listen closely to my words. Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart; for they are life to those who find them and health to a man’s whole body. Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.

      There are so many good ones, but I like this one because it seems to cover it all. If we listen to God’s word closely and keep it in our hearts, it is life and health to us. And the last verse is a favorite to remind me that I must guard my heart against anything that would not be pleasing to God.

      Do you have a favorite?

      • I don’t. But I will keep an eye for them and build a collection of my favourites. Perhaps, I will come up with my own. Your post has inspired me. Thank you

  1. That’s great to hear! The Bible says in Hebrews, “Let us spur one another on with love and good deeds.” That’s what it’s all about. Blessings!

  2. Intentional. Prepared. Serious words, and two traits I pray for. Here’s the scenario. We were at granddaughter Miriam’s dance recital. She’s six. It had concluded and the hallways outside the auditorium were filled with dancers and parents, friends, and relatives. As seems to be a tradition with performances here in Dallas, the girls were presented with flowers from their families. Roses, mixed bouquets, flowers worthy of Valentine’s Day and wedding anniversaries. Miriam got ten red roses. I leaned over and told her how beautiful the roses were. She said she really liked the roses, and then she said, “One girl just got one.” I was not prepared. I was not intentional. But I will follow up when I see her again. I cannot let the distractions and pressure to hurry, move on keep me from speaking truth to my grandchildren. Nor can I blame the uproar in the hallway for my inadequencies.

    • WOW! That’s great that she noticed the other girl only got one. An innate sense of justice. The world needs more of that. It’s those teachable moments that we all need to capitalize on. We all fail sometimes. We have to look for those moments. Like today, M.J. was picking roses from our rose bush to give to the little girl next door. I could’ve gotten mad that he was picking all of the roses. But, thankfully, I didn’t. I realized that roses will grow back. I hope he will always have a tender heart. And imagine what that would have done if I had scolded him for it. Thank the Lord, I got one right! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

