Twelve more days of school!

Well, my little guy was home all last week with me because he woke up Monday morning with a fever. I took him to the doctor and they told me he had strep. The doctor didn’t even do a culture because his throat was swollen and had spots all over. He said, “That’s strep. Nothing else looks like that.” I took his word for it. I’m no doctor.

Image

When my child holds still for more than 5 seconds, he’s definitely sick. Doesn’t he look so innocent? The doctor said he could go back to school on Wednesday. So, Wednesday morning he got up feeling fine, but said he had bumps on his foot and they hurt. I looked and sure enough, he had red bumps on the bottoms of his feet. I’ve heard that a rash can occur with strep, but I kept him home and took him back in. This time he was able to see his regular pediatrician. He diagnosed him with Hand, Foot and Mouth disease. Doesn’t that sound awful? I told my mother and she was appalled. She asked me if he had been exposed to dirty people. LOL! It has nothing to do with uncleanliness. (Well, except for the fact that kids spread it around by sneezing and coughing without covering their mouths. Sound like grade school to you??) It’s just a virus and apparently it’s going around the schools up here. Yippee.

Image

So, I kept him home the rest of the week. His pediatrician said he could go back to school, but I wanted him to be 100% before he went back. I enjoyed having him home with me all week. We even picked up his school work and went down to our homeschool room and had a practice homeschool day on Thursday. That went pretty well until he had to write a thank you letter. You’d think I was torturing him. OY! But he’s better now and ready to finish this school year. He has 12 school days left and the last two are a half day and an hour. Yeah, weird. I can’t wait until it’s OVER!

Ever heard of Hand, foot and mouth disease??? Here’s a picture of his feet. He was lucky. He only had a handful of spots on his feet and a couple on his hands. He didn’t get any bumps in his mouth and none of them blistered. Do a google image search and check it out. Nasty stuff. The bumps can turn to blister and get full of pus. Gross. His didn’t.

Image

Well, on that lovely note, I’ll close! Hope you all had a great weekend!

If you have a moment, check out Micah’s blog. He’s very excited about it and he doesn’t even know that he’s writing! Shhh…don’t tell him.

His blog– www dot searchingforclues dot wordpress dot com

There’s No Place Like Home!

One thought on “Twelve more days of school!

Leave a Reply

